Patio.. the beginning

So I am a big blog person, love them, read them all the time, the more the better. I love looking at what other people have created and what they have to say about it, finding new ideas for crafts, graphic design, home decor and improvements. DIY obsessed, right here. I fully admit it. I love doing projects and I love how much money it can save you to do it yourself, plus you get a major sense of accomplishment and complete bragging rights, which is always a bonus. So with that being said, last week I was doing my normal blog perusing and found an awesome DIY backyard patio idea. I instantly knew I wanted to try it. It sounded like a good idea, not too terribly difficult or expensive and the end result looked really good. It seemed like the perfect solution to replace our current river rock pathway from the garage to the deck and is also a simple way of expanding that area out to a patio that we can enjoy. I was sold. I started researching it, looking for supplies and adding up the costs. The more research I did, the more I liked this idea.

By the way, I also love this idea of a wood plank stamped concrete patio, but I thought that would have been a little out of our league.

Upon doing my research I found the concrete molds on the Home Shopping Network and a video of the molds, how to use them and how easy they are. “You can do a whole pathway in an afternoon.” “No heavy lifting.”I would just like to state for the record that the Home Shopping Network is full of it. They are not easy, they are not fast and there is no way in the world I would have been able to do this without Steve. I cannot lift, mix or pour 60lbs of concrete. Not to mention you have to go to Home Depot and purchase the bags of concrete and transport them home without breaking an axle. I would also like to state that it is back breaking work. By the end of the third day of Patio Phase 1 I thought I was going to die. I wish I was kidding.

Now that the feeling of being completely sure that the patio was trying to kill me has passed, phase 1 looks really good. We are going to fill the spaces with sand tonight and try it out now that it has completely dried. Here’s hoping that it doesn’t crumble beneath our feet.

Once we get through all three phases of this project I am going to go through the step by step procedures for making these, tips we figured out and all the dirty details.

One response to “Patio.. the beginning

  1. Pingback: Our Finished DIY “Patio” | House Struck

Leave a Reply

